Administrative Law_Lokayukta


  1. A Lokayukta is empowered to investigate the complaints relating to the action of the official below the rank of Secretary.
  2. Lokayukta is the institution functioning at State Level. 
  3. The State of Maharashtra was the first State in India that setup the orgnaization of Lokayukta through the Maharashtra Lokayukta and Upa-Lokayuktas Act in 1971.
  4. Lokayukta is defined under Section 2(e) of the above Act, 1971
    • A person appointed as the Lokayukta under Section - 3 of the Act
  5. Upa - Lokayukta is defined under Section 2(f) of the above Act, 1971
    • A person appointed as the Upa Lokayukta under Section - 3 of the Act. 
  6. The Governor of the Maharashtra State appoints the Lokayukta after due consultations with Chief Justice of the Bombay High Court and Leader of Opposition in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. 
  7. The appointment of Upa-Lokayukta is made after consultation with the Lokayukta. 
  8. The term of Office of the Lokayukta or the Upa-Lokayukta is of five years.
  9. Removal - The removal of Lokayukta or Upa-Lokayukta can be made through the  impeachment process. The action of removal can only be made on the grounds of misbehavior or incapacity and no other grounds. The procedure for removal has been enumerated in the Article 311 of the Constitution of India.
  10. Powers - Any citizen of country can make the complaint of corruption directly to the Lokayukta against any Government officer or elected representative. The powers of Lokayukta’s  varies from State to State. In some States of the Country, the Lokayukta inquires into allegations made against public functionaries including Chief Minister, Ministers, and MLAs. While in some states, he has the power to investigate into Civil Servants/Bureaucrats, Judiciary and Police.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Popular Posts

Featured Post

Criminology_Theories of Punishment OR Schools of Punishment

Theories of Punishment OR Schools of Punishment According to Jeremy Bentham the main ends of Punishment are Prevention and Compensation. Fol...